Robyn Chapman here, editorial assistant at Graphic Universe.  Like the rest of New York, my neighborhood was hit hard by the blizzard.  Here was the view outside my Brooklyn apartment yesterday morning.

Blizzard or not, I had to venture out.  I am cat-sitting for several families in Queens, and those cats were hungry.  I made it to Queens, but I sure could have used a pair of snowshoes! 

Our storm might have been nasty, but it can’t compare to the Great Blizzard of 1888, one of the most severe blizzards in America’s recorded history. Snowfalls in New York, New Jersey, Connecticut and Massachusetts ranged from 40-50 inches.  Winds of over 45 miles per hour created huge snow drifts (imagine a snow drift over 50 feet high!)  Tragically, over 400 people died.

The Snowshoeing Adventure of Milton Daub, Blizzard Trekker tells the story of a real-life 12-year old who braved the Great Blizzard of 1888.  With the aid of some homemade snowshoes, he traversed the snow in his Bronx neighborhood.  He went out seeking milk for his family, and ended up delivering groceries and medicine to several neighbors.  It’s a great story to share with your children on a cold winter night.

