Twisted Journeys Book #13: School of Evil

Twisted Journeys Book #13: School of Evil, April 2010

Continuing on from last week, I have another artist spotlight. This time I interviewed Sandy Carruthers, the artist behind some of our Twisted Journeys books, as well as two of our Graphic Myths and Legends series.

Q. What computer programs and/or what kind of pens, pencils and brushes do you use?

A. Mediums are bountiful these days. For my comic work, I use 2H and HB pencils, the classic Hunt 102 and sable brushes with black Pelikan inko 2 ply bristle board or illustration board. I paint with Acrylics when I’m working on canvas and color pencils for dry medium. For digital work, I use to work with Freehand for vector stuff, but now it’s Illustrator. For full color work I’ll use Photoshop. I’ve dabbled with Painter as well.

Q. What music (if any) do our you listen to while drawing? It can be a genre or specific bands or songs (or even podcasts).

A. Music is critical when I work. I generally go for Mozart or Beethoven in the mornings and shake it up with some Blues and Jazz in the afternoons. I prefer instrumental music, as I find lyrics distracting for my attention.

Yu the Great ; Conquering the Flood

Graphic Myths and Legends: Yu the Great ; Conquering the Flood

Q. What are your favorite comics right now, either online or in print?

A. Currently I’m reading: Superman-Secret Origins’ by Geoff Johns and Gary Martin, Doctor Voodoo by Rick Remender and Jefte Palo, Batman and Robin by Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely, and Fantastic Four by Jonathan Hickman and Dale Eaglesham. Pretty much anything by Alan Moore. Liking Jonah Hex as well. I’m all over the map!

Q. What comics did you read growing up?

A. Wow. What didn’t I read? Let’s see… I read Gold Key’s Robot Fighter by Russ Heath, Carl Bark’s great Walt Disney comics, European imports like René Goscinny and Albert Uderzo’s Asterix. Tin Tin by Herge. Neal Adams and Len Weins Batman. Stan Lee and John Romita’s Spiderman. Steve Gerber and Gene Colan’s Howard the Duck. Countless Classic’s Illustrated. MAD magazine. Warren’s Eerie and Creepy Magazine (which introduced me to many amazing illustrators like Alex Toth and Will Eisner!) Heavy Metal blew me away with master work by the lieks of Moebius, Bilal, Druillet and Richard Corben. I discover Winsor McKay along the way. L’il Nemo in Slumberland. One of my main influence would have to be Joe Kubert. His Tarzan comics in the 70’s were breathtaking. There’s many, many more, but you get the gist. I do go out of my way to remember who wrote and illustrated works I really like… yes, I’m a nerd!

Sunjata : Warrior King of Mali

Graphic Myths and Legends: Sunjata ; Warrior King of Mali

Q. Did you go to college for art and/or comics, or something else? Which college?

A. I went to Holland College here in Prince Edward Island (where I grew up) and graduated with a Graphic Arts dipoma. I then took Illustration at Sheridan College in Ontario.

6. What is the next convention you plan to go to? (This doesn’t have to be definite.)

A. Hoping next summer to go to Hal-Con, which is a new event in Halifax, NS. Would like to make it to the Convention in Toronto next summer as well.

Q. What is your favorite comics convention (if any)?

A. Hands down, it would have to be The San Diego Comic Con. I’ve been there twice, and both times was an amazing adventure. The Toronto Convention is fun as well, and I think the Halifax one shows good promise. Nice to have it close as well. I’ve not been to any New York ones, but heard they can be fun.

Yu the Great : Conquering the Flood

Page from Graphic Myths and Legends: Yu the Great

Panel from Terror in Ghost Mansion

Panel from Twisted Journeys Book #03 Terror in Ghost Mansion

